Abu Dhabi shakes up oil council

30 March 2016

Abu Dhabi Supreme Council is the highest governing body in UAE for oil and gas

UAE President Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed al-Nahyan has announced a reshuffle of the Abu Dhabi Supreme Petroleum Council, the highest governing body for oil and gas in the country.

The decision came by Emiri decree on the 29 March, and notably named Head of State for National Security Adviser Sheikh Hazza al-Nahyan as a new member.

The council also acts as the board of directors for the Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (Adnoc).

Sultan al-Jaber was also announced as a new member of the council, a move most expected after he was named the new head of Adnoc in February.

In addition to acting as CEO of the energy portfolio of Mubadala Development, the Abu Dhabi government’s investment vehicle, Al-Jaber has served as chairman of renewable energy company Masdar since 2006.

Another notable inclusion is Khaldoon al-Mubarak, seen as a leading figure in the next generation of technocrats. Al-Mubarak has served as Mubadala’s group CEO, in addition to serving as a member of the Executive Affairs Council and the chairman of the Executive Affairs Authority.

He has been a senior civil servant for many years, while holding several key chairmanships, including that of the Emirates Nuclear Energy Corporation, which is scheduled to bring the country’s first four nuclear reactors online between 2017 and 2020 to meet swiftly growing energy demands.

Under Sheikh Khalifa’s chairmanship the following are members of the SPC are:

  • Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed al-Nahyan (vice-president of the council)
  • Sheikh Hazza bin Zayed al-Nahyan
  • Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed al-Nahyan
  • Sheikh Hamed bin Zayed al-Nahyan
  • Sheikh Mohammed bin Khalifa bin Zayed al-Nahyan
  • Sheikh Dhiyab bin Mohamed bin Zayed al-Nahyan
  • Hamad al-Shamsi (secretary-general of the council)
  • Sultan al-Jaber
  • Minister of Energy (Suhail Mohammed Faraj al-Mazroui)
  • Ahmed al-Mazrouei
  • Khaldoon al-Mubarak
  • Abdullah al-Suwaidi
  • Suhail Fares Ghanem al-Mazroui
  • Chairman of the Department of Finance (Riyad al-Mubarak)
  • Chairman of the Energy Authority (Abdullah bin Mohammed al-Hamed)

A MEED Subscription...

Subscribe or upgrade your current MEED.com package to support your strategic planning with the MENA region’s best source of business information. Proceed to our online shop below to find out more about the features in each package.

Get Notifications