Libya’s Prime Minister Mustafa Abushagur has nominated more than 20 ministers for his cabinet to be approved by the country’s new General National Congress (GNC) on 7 October.

Abushagur’s nominations include Mabrouk Issa Abu Harroura, a former employee of Libya’s Zueitina Oil Company, to lead the Oil Ministry, the local Tripoli Post reports.

The incumbent, Abdulrahman Ben Yezza, a former executive of Italy’s Eni in Libya had been expected to remain in the post.

Abdallah Shamia, an economics lecturer at Benghazi University and former prisoner under the Gaddafi regime was appointed as Finance Minister.

Three deputy prime ministers were also selected, with one from each of Libya’s main geographic regions.

The National Transitional Council (NTC), which was formed during the 2011 civil war, handed over power in early August to 200-seat GNC, following Libya’s first parliamentary elections held in June.