New heads line up for restructured SEC

21 June 2002

Saudi Electricity Company (SEC)on 4 June selected the vice-presidents of its new strategic business units (SBUs), paving the way for the final restructuring of the company. Since April 2000, SEC has been in the process of consolidating its regional branches to fit into the new model, which will entail the eventual unbundling of generation, transmission and distribution services. In April, it published consolidated financial figures for the first time (see Special Report, page 36).

The president of SEC remains Sulaiman al-Kadi. Under him will be three executive vice-presidents and nine senior vice-presidents, of whom four now head existing SEC branches and will have responsibility for distribution in the regions they already cover. They will report to Ali Saleh al-Barrak, executive vice-president of the distribution and customer service SBU, suggesting that the heads of regional distribution will focus on client relations.

Yousif Sulaiman Balghunaim has been named executive vice-president of the generation SBU, which will handle all generation assets and could work with private developers to promote greenfield independent power projects (IPPs). Tariq al-Betairi is the new executive vice-president of the transmission SBU, the sole power purchaser under the new system. Transmission will not only be the largest single entity within SEC, but will also handle relations with large, industrial customers.

Other appointments include: Amer Mohammed al-Swaha, senior vice-president for human resources; Abdulsalam Abdulaziz al-Yamni, senior vice-president for public affairs and shareholder relations; Mutlaq Mohammed al-Mutlaq, senior vice-president for legal counsel; Mohammed Ibrahim al-Mulhim, senior vice-president of planning and programmes; and Fahd al-Hajri, senior vice-president in charge of the general services unit. The heads of finance and internal auditing have yet to be appointed.

The new senior vice-presidents in charge of distribution and customer services in the four operating areas of SEC are the current heads of the SEC operating branches. They are: Saleh Mohammed al-Onaizan in the central operating area; Saad Hamid al-Mansour in the eastern operating area; Fouad Mohammed al-Sharabi in the western operating area; and Mansour Mohammed al-Qahtani in the southern operating area.

A MEED Subscription...

Subscribe or upgrade your current package to support your strategic planning with the MENA region’s best source of business information. Proceed to our online shop below to find out more about the features in each package.

Get Notifications