Also serving on the board are Hashim al-Dabal, the vice-chairman, Ahmed bin Byat, Saeed al-Muntafiq, Abdulhamid Juma and Omar bin Sulaiman.

Mohammed al-Gergawi has been replaced as the free zone’s director-general by Ahmed bin Byat. Al-Gergawi will resume his duties at the executive office of Sheikh Mohammad bin Rashid al-Maktoum, crown prince of Dubai and UAE defence minister.

Abdulhamid Juma has taken up position as the chief executive officer (CEO) of the Dubai Media City and Omar bin Sulaiman has been appointed CEO of the Dubai Internet City.

‘We are heading in the direction of corporatising our operations,’ said Bin Byat, at a press conference at which the new appointments were unveiled.

The new management also marks the arrival of a younger generation of nationals in senior government positions.