The prequalified companies include the US’ AES Corporation; Hong Kong Electric International; The UK’s International Power; Spain’s Union Fenosa; Belgium’s Suez Energy International; and Saudi Arabia’s United Infrastructure Developers Company.
There are also two Malaysian firms, Tenaga Nasional Berhad and Powertek Berhad; and seven Japanese firms, Marubeni Corporation, Mitsubishi Corporation, Mitsui & Company, Shikoku Electric Power Company, Sojitz Corporation, Sumitomo Corporation, and Tokyo Electric Power Company.