The Green line of Dubai metro will begin operations on 9 September, exactly two years after the opening of the Red line.

Dubai Ruler Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum will open the Green line.

The Green line will run for 23 kilometres and comprises 18 stations. All stations will be open on this date except for Al-Jadaf and Creek stations. While these stations are finished, the real-estate projects being built close to these stations have not yet been completed.

The 16 stations that will open include Etisalat, Al-Qusais, Airport Free Zone, Al-Nahda, Al-Qiyadah, Abu Hail, Abu Baker al-Siddique, Salah Uddin, Union, Baniyas Square, Palm Deira, Al-Ras, Al-Ghubaiba, Al-Fahidi, Khalid bin al-Waleed and Dubai Healthcare City.

The Red and Green lines will intersect twice, at Union Station and Khalid bin Al-Waleed station.

“The completion of the vital Dubai metro project culminates the continuous support and attention of Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum, vice-president and prime minister of the UAE and ruler of Dubai to uplift the infrastructure of Dubai,” says Mattar al-Tayer, chairman of the board and executive director of Dubai’s Roads & Transport Authority (RTA).

The RTA expects to operate 14 trains in peak hours and 10 trains at off-peak times. The total number of trains in operation on both lines will reach 50 during peak times.

Trial runs of the Green line began earlier this year (MEED 5:6:11).