MEED celebrates quality in projects throughout the GCC

24 March 2015

The fifth edition of the awards continues to highlight projects that can demonstrate their contribution to the GCC

The national winners in the fifth edition of the MEED Quality Awards for Projects, in association with Mashreq, have been decided by MEED’s team of independent judges. The successful projects will now move through to the second round of judging to find the highest-quality GCC projects, the winners of which will be announced on 27 May. As well as competing for the GCC award in their specific sectors, the national winners are in with a chance to win the coveted title of the MEED Quality Project of the Year, in association with Mashreq.

The national winners are the result of MEED’s search for the highest-quality GCC projects completed between January 2013 and December 2014; the chosen schemes have all shown a commitment to quality from the concept and design stage through engineering and construction to completion.

The 2015 awards programme saw a 90 per cent increase in entries for the Industrial Project of the Year, revealing the need for the benchmarking of project quality throughout the GCC. In particular, entries from Kuwait increased by 100 per cent. 

The fifth edition of the awards continues to highlight projects that can demonstrate their contribution to the GCC economy, environmental awareness and success in architecture, engineering and construction. This supplement showcases those winners that stood out above other entries.

Judging process

The national winners have been selected by our judges following a detailed assessment of entries submitted by project teams across the region. The programme is an open competition, and those selected as winners have been chosen by an independent panel of project professionals, who represent each of the region’s markets.

Support from the Society of Engineers in each GCC country is an important part of the awards, and thanks go to these organisations for the key role they play in promoting quality in the region’s construction markets. Many of the judges hold high positions in their institutions. We thank them for giving up their time to support the programme.

The national winners and overall GCC winners have been recommended by the judging panel, but MEED has full and final responsibility for the outcome of the programme.

MEED would like to thank all those individuals, teams and organisations who have worked hard to prepare their entry forms. Special recognition must also go to the tens of thousands of workers at all levels of management and on-the-ground execution, from the GCC and beyond, without whom none of the projects in the region could have been built.

The MEED Quality Awards for Projects, in association with Mashreq, will be won by projects that have applied high standards all the way through the concept, build and delivery of facilities. MEED is delighted to congratulate the national winners on getting through the first stage of the judging process.

Becky Crayman

Awards ceremony

The awards ceremony will be held at the MEED Construction Leadership Summit on 27 May at The Address Dubai Marina, where an audience of influential stakeholders from across the region will convene to celebrate the highest-quality projects in the GCC.

MEED looks forward to welcoming you to the reception, dinner and presentation. The evening will provide the opportunity for project owners and top architects, engineers and construction professionals to congratulate their teams, clients, partners and suppliers.

Date 27 May    Location The Address Dubai Marina

Book at

MEED Awards Contacts

Becky Crayman

Head of awards

(+971) 4 368 1635

(+971) 50 559 0713

Edmund O’Sullivan

Chairman of judging panel

A MEED Subscription...

Subscribe or upgrade your current package to support your strategic planning with the MENA region’s best source of business information. Proceed to our online shop below to find out more about the features in each package.

Get Notifications