Dahabi has headed the Aqaba special economic zone since 2004 and held the position of transport minister from 2001 to 2003. He also headed Royal Jordanian airlines from 1994-2001.
Former trade and industry and justice minister Salah Bashir will replace Abdul Ilah Khatib as foreign minister and Eid Fayez will retain his position as industry minister.
The 27-member cabinet also includes four women. Suhair Ali, the only woman in the previous administration, has kept the planning portfolio. Hala Lattuf, a former secretary general of the planning ministry and head of Queen Rania’s office since July, will lead the social development ministry. Another former member of the queen’s office, Maha Khatib, will head the tourism ministry.