Qatar will confirm the final number of stadiums for the FIFA 2022 World Cup in January 2015, according to a statement from the Qatar 2022 Local Organising Committee (LOC).

The authorities were expected to announce the final number of stadiums by the end of December, in line with conditions imposed by FIFA.

Fifa regulations stipulate a host nation must deliver a minimum of eight and a maximum of 12 stadiums. The final decision is set to be approved by football’s governing body in January 2015.

“There was an agreement about deciding the number of stadiums for the World Cup by the end of this year but because of the importance of this matter, we decided to postpone the decision,” said Nasser al-Khater, the assistant general secretary of LOC.

The stadiums confirmed so far include:

Qatar foundation stadium

Al-Wakrah stadium

Al-Bayt stadium – Al Khor City

Khalifa International stadium (expansion)

Al-Rayyan stadium (expansion)