Scaled down opening for Dubai Metro

31 August 2009

Only 10 stations ready for opening day

Dubai’s Roads & Transport Authority (RTA) will open just 10 out of 29 stations when the Dubai Metro starts running on 9 September.

The ten stations will be Rashidiya, Dubai Airport Terminal 3, Deira City Centre, Al-Rigga Road, Union Square, Khalid bin Waleed Street, Al-Jafliah, Financial Centre, Mall of the Emirates, and Nakheel Harbour & Tower.

The remaining 19 stations will open at a later date.

The cost of the project has exceeded its budget by 80 per cent. It was originally expected to costs AED16bn and is now likely to cost AED28bn to finish. The increase in cost stems from changes to the scope and design of the project (MEED 17:10:08).

A MEED Subscription...

Subscribe or upgrade your current package to support your strategic planning with the MENA region’s best source of business information. Proceed to our online shop below to find out more about the features in each package.

Get Notifications