Update: UAE airlines suspend Qatar flights

05 June 2017

Flights to and from Qatar from all UAE airlines will cease on 6 June

All UAE-based airlines have announced they will be suspending all flights to and from Qatar following the decision of the UAE, along with Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and Egypt, to cut diplomatic ties with Qatar.

Dubai-based airlines Emirates and Flydubai, Sharjah-based Air Arabia as well as Abu Dhabi-based Etihad Airways, are suspending all flights to and from Qatar starting on 6 June.

Emirates Airline’s last flight on 6 June will depart from Doha at 3:50am, and Etihad Airways’ last flight from Doha will depart 10 minutes later.

All airlines said flights will be suspended until further notice.

Flydubai did not specify the departure time of its last flight from Doha.

 Last outbound flight to Doha (UAE time)Last inbound flight(Doha time)







Sources: Airlines

Saudi Arabia and Bahrain have closed all land, sea and airports to traffic headed to or originating from Qatar.

In addition to closing its airspace, ports and territorial waters to air traffic and shipping to and from Qatar, Bahrain said it is banning citizens from travelling to or staying in Qatar. It has also said it would prohibit Qatari citizens from entering or transiting through Bahrain.

Saudi citizens are prohibited from traveling to, residing in or passing through Qatar. Qatari residents and visitors in Saudi Arabia have been given 14 days to leave the country. Qatari citizens are also no longer allowed to enter or transit through Saudi Arabia. 

A MEED Subscription...

Subscribe or upgrade your current MEED.com package to support your strategic planning with the MENA region’s best source of business information. Proceed to our online shop below to find out more about the features in each package.

Get Notifications