Construction summit to reward project excellence

30 October 2014

The MEED Quality Awards for Projects 2015 in association with Mashreq is now open for entries. Companies have until 15 January to nominate their projects for recognition

Submissions are now being welcomed for the MEED Quality Awards for Projects 2015 in association with Mashreq. It is the fifth round of MEED’s awards programme, which recognises the highest quality projects completed in the GCC in a two-year period. Interested parties have until 15 January to send in their entries.

The winners will be announced during the MEED Construction Leadership Summit in May.

Set over two days, the summit is the high-level meeting place for the Gulf’s construction leaders and provides a much-needed platform to promote open dialogue between contractors, consultants and clients, who will examine the strategic direction of the region’s construction industry, the issues threatening its performance and those leading its change. It also recognises and rewards the GCC’s best completed projects. The summit combines the MEED Construction Leadership Conference and the MEED Quality Awards for Projects ceremony.

MEED Quality Awards for Projects 2015 in association with Mashreq

The MEED Quality Awards for Projects is different from other awards programmes in that it evaluates the outcome of the construction process, rather than the process itself. MEED is proud to have created an independent judging panel, with the help of the Societies of Engineers across the GCC.

The awards programme evaluates the outcome of the construction process, rather than the process itself

The awards programme allows a project to be benchmarked against its own sector and as such recognises its valuable addition to that industry, whether it be the oil and gas, power and water, industrial, transport, and residential sector, or a project that has shown outstanding sustainable impact.

Award entrants complete a rigorous entry form, which allows the judges to discuss and evaluate each case before deciding on the winning submissions. The winners for the MEED Quality Awards for Projects 2014 in association with Mashreq included: Salalah Gardens Mall & Residences (Oman); Riyadh Water Supply Project (Saudi Arabia); Cayan Tower (UAE); and King Fahd National Library (Saudi Arabia).

Rewarding quality

According to MEED’s Gulf Projects Index, a total of more than $1.2 trillion-worth of projects are planned or under way in the GCC – this is a staggering amount of investment for the region and thousands of project teams will play their part to ensure that these schemes are completed at the highest quality. 

Why enter the MEED Quality Awards for Projects?

The awards programme aims to raise standards through benchmarking the best practice specified in project briefs and excellence provided in project delivery. Winning an award sends a message to the market that your firm has demonstrated that quality is essential in all parts of the project management process; from design planning to engineering and construction. You will:

  • Gain unparalleled recognition for your project on an international platform;
  • Benchmark your achievements through an independent judging process;
  • Associate with the programme’s core values: integrity, accuracy and innovation;
  • Celebrate your team’s achievements;
  • Network with the region’s leaders in projects.

Award categories

1. Oil and Gas Project of the Year  

Offshore and onshore hydrocarbons recovery, exploration and production facilities, refineries, distribution, pipelines, product distillation and petrochemicals projects.

2. Industrial Project of the Year

Manufacturing, materials, mining and metals (excluding petrochemicals).

3. Power and Water Project of the Year

Energy, power, hydroelectric, desalination, infrastructure, water usage, public supply, waste and recycling, sewage and water treatment.

4. Leisure and Tourism Project of the Year

Attractions, heritage, leisure, entertainment and tourism. Malls, hotels, theme parks, resorts and facilities.

5. Transport Project of the Year

Ports, airports, rail, tram, metro, bus terminals, tunnels, bridges and road infrastructure.

6. Social Infrastructure Project of the Year  

Public spaces, education, healthcare, social housing, community, cultural and religious centres.

7. Building Project of the Year

Mixed-use developments, commercial, residential and business building projects.

8. Sustainable Project of the Year   

Any project that has shown a tangible and proven approach to sustainability.

9. Small Project of the Year

Entries for this category must have a project value of $35m or under and can be projects in any sector .

10. Award for Innovation

This award will recognise an outstanding contribution to a project completed in 2013-14 anywhere in the GCC. This can encompass managerial and technical innovations, but the judges will view positively the use of new communications technologies that engage all stakeholders in the delivery of a project. The innovation can be nominated by participants in any stage of the project delivery supply chain. 

11. MEED Quality Project of the Year 2015 in association with Mashreq*

Awarded to the GCC winning project (from any category) that has risen above the rest as the outstanding example of what quality in construction, engineering and innovation represents.

*=The winner of this category is chosen by MEED and our judging panel, and is not open for entry submissions

How to enter the MEED Quality Awards for Projects 2015 in association with Mashreq

The judging panel is looking forward to receiving entries from teams that have completed projects in the GCC in the past two years (January 2013-December 2014) and are confident they can win an award, based on their entry being evaluated against the following judging criteria:

  • Economic and social impacts;
  • Environmental impact;
  • Engineering achievements;
  • Design achievements;
  • Construction achievements.

The awards programme is designed so that minimal time is needed to complete an entry submission and the content asked for is compulsory information needed for the judging panel.

All information supplied by entrants is confidential and only the award winners will be published.

Register your details online now at as soon as possible in order to gain access to the entry form for your specific category.

Good luck to all our entrants!

Key dates

  • Open for award entries: Now
  • Award entry deadline: 15 January 2015

MEED Construction Leadership Summit

MEED Construction Leadership Conference

26-27 May 2015

MEED Quality Awards for Projects 2015 in association with Mashreq

27 May 2015

For more details, please contact:

Angela Powell

+971 (0)4 818 0345

A MEED Subscription...

Subscribe or upgrade your current package to support your strategic planning with the MENA region’s best source of business information. Proceed to our online shop below to find out more about the features in each package.

Get Notifications