Kuwait’s Emir Sheikh Sabah al-Ahmed al-Jaber al-Sabah has sworn in the country’s new cabinet, its 10th in just six years.

The new government, which will be led by Prime Minister Sheikh Jaber al-Mubarak al-Hamad al-Sabah was formed on 23 July, a month after the suspension of parliament.

It is the third cabinet since Sheikh Jaber took over the premiership in December 2011.

The newly formed cabinet held its first session immediately, passing three decrees concerning Kuwait’s National Assembly.

The first was to implement a constitutional court ruling from 20 June, which annulled Kuwait’s 2 February parliamentary elections, dissolved the National Assembly and reinstated the previous body, elected in 2009.

It also overturned a decree from December 2011, which dissolved the previous parliament and also called for fresh elections. The decrees are yet to be signed by the emir.

Parliament was suspended on 18 June for a month to allow the former Information Minister Ahmad al-Hamoud al-Sabah, a member of the ruling family to escape a parliamentary interrogation.

No date has been set for the dissolution of the current assembly, which has only been suspended, or for fresh elections.

Cabinet positions Minister
First Deputy Prime Minister and Interior Minister Sheikh Ahmad Hamoud al-Jaber al-Sabah
Deputy Prime Minister and Defence Minister Sheikh Ahmad Khalid Al-Hamad al-Sabah
Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Sheikh Sabah Khalid al-Hamad al-Sabah
Commerce and Industry Minister and Minister of State for Housing Affairs Anas Khalid al-Saleh
Justice and Legal Affairs Minister Jamal Ahmad al-Shihab
Communications Minister and Acting Minister of Social Affairs and Labor Salem Muthiab al-Utheina
Minister of Planning and Development and Minister of State for National Assembly Affairs Rola Abdullah Dashti
Minister of Health Ali Saad al-Obeidi
Electricity and Water Minister and Minister of State for Municipal Affairs Abdulaziz Abdullatif al-Ibrahim
Information Minister and Minister of State for Cabinet Affairs Sheikh Muhammad Abdullah al-Mubarak al-Sabah
Finance Minister, Education Minister and Acting Minister of Higher Education Nayef Falah al-Hajraf
Oil Minister and Acting Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs Hani Abdulaziz Hussein
Sources: Local media; MEED