Qatar Airways to join OneWorld in October

10 September 2013

Membership will drive more traffic through Doha airport

Qatar Airways will be a full member of the OneWorld alliance from 30 October.

It is the only one of the major Gulf airlines to sign up to the global alliance.

Qatar’s airline was invited to join the alliance in October 2012. Since then the airline has completed its implementation programme.

Membership of the alliance will drive increased passenger traffic through its Doha airport.

Members of Qatar Airways’ privilege club will enjoy frequent flyer benefits when they fly with other OneWorld airlines including British Airways, Airberlin, Cathay Pacific Airways, Royal Jordanian and Malaysia Airlines.

Qatar Airways will also add more than 20 destinations and five countries, Ethiopia, Iran, Rwanda, Serbia, and Tanzania new to OneWorld network.

A MEED Subscription...

Subscribe or upgrade your current package to support your strategic planning with the MENA region’s best source of business information. Proceed to our online shop below to find out more about the features in each package.

Get Notifications